Ten years after the PBA Tournament of Champions offered a $1 million prize fund and $250,000 first-place prize at the Red Rock Bowling Center in Las Vegas, the Professional Bowlers Association will duplicate that prize fund and top prize in the 2021 PBA Players Championship.

The event will begin on the weekend of Jan. 15 with five regional qualifying events that will take place simultaneously at Bowlero locations around the country: Bowlero Christown in Phoenix, Ariz. (West Region); AMF Garland Lanes in Garland, Texas (Southwest); Bowlero Wauwatosa in Milwaukee, Wis. (Central); Bowlero West End in Richmond, Va. (East), and AMF University Lanes in Tampa, Fla. (South).

The top five players from each qualifying event will advance to a series of five televised regional finals, all taking place at Bowlero Jupiter in Jupiter, Fla., airing Jan. 24 through Feb. 14 on FS1.

The culminating sixth telecast will feature the five regional winners competing in the championship finals live on the FOX broadcast network on Sunday, Feb. 21 at 12:30 p.m. Eastern.

Mika Koivuniemi won the 2011 Tournament of Champions and its $250,000 top prize.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: