The Stubler family has left an indelible mark on bowling in the Prairie State. Now, Bob Stubler has joined his brother Jim as a recipient of the Illinois State Bowling Proprietors Association’s most prestigious honor, the Louis Petersen Award.

The Petersen award was inaugurated in 1983 to honor industry legends — those who have dedicated significant time to the betterment of the bowling industry in Illinois. The first recipient was Sam Weinstein, a bowling product distributor and long-time Chicago radio personality known as the “Tenpin Tattler.”

Other recipients have included Jack Whitehead (1984), Wally Miller (1985), Joseph Marchesi (1986), Rudy Kraft (1987), Bill Feldott (1990), Dane Walker (1991), James Bennett Jr. (1992), Marc Auerbach and Gene Schmidt (1993), Jack Reichert (1996), Mort Luby Jr. (1999), Remo Picchietti Sr. (2000), Carmen Salvino (2002), Tom Kouros (2003), John Sommer (2005), Les Zikes (2006), Pat Bosco (2008), Art Hartman (2010), Jim Stubler (2012), Richard Supanich (2013), Jim Smith (2014), Bob Crawford (2015), Tom Sims (2017), Lyle Zikes (2018) and Bill Bard (2019).

The Stubler brothers also are recipients of the ISBPA President’s Award, Bob in 2005 and Jim in 2016. Each also received a BPAA Proprietor of the Year award for Illinois, Jim in 2006 and Bob in 2013. Bob also received the ISBPA’s Patrick F. Bosco Award of Merit in 2010, nineteen years after his father, Rudy, received that award.

Bob Stubler’s most recent honor came at the ISBPA General Membership Annual Meeting, held at the Hotel Arista at Citygate Centre in Naperville, Ill. Other awards presented:

• ISBPA Award of Gratitude — Tremaine Atkinson, CEO of CH Distillery. Atkinson and his company provided 1,000 gallons of sanitizer during the pandemic as part of the ISBPA’s personal protective equipment packages prepared for each association member center.

• Patrick F. Bosco Award of Merit — Bill Brennan, proprietor of Bluebird Lanes in Chicago. Brennan was recognized for all the additional hours he dedicated to the association and its member proprietors during the pandemic.

• President’s Award — Cameron Linder of Western Bowling Proprietors Insurance; Tom Doud of Channahon Lanes in Channahon, Ill.; Jeff Johnson of 4 Seasons Bowl in Freeport, Ill., and Bill Duff, Executive Director of the ISBPA. Like Brennan, they were recognized for going above and beyond the call of duty in helping members deal with state COVID-19 protocols.

Three centers were recognized for their 50 years in ISBPA membership: Burr Oak Bowl, Blue Island; Tangerine Bowl, Quincy, and Streamwood Bowl, Streamwood.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: